Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption


Glaser became the third head coach in program history to be named SEC Coach of the Year.

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – University of Florida women’s golf head coach Emily Glaser was named the 2017 Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year, the league announced Thursday.

In addition, Maria Torres and Kelly Grassel were named to the First Team All-SEC, Taylor Tomlinson, Karolina Vlckova picked up Second Team All-SEC accolades, and Marta Perez was named to the SEC All-Freshman Team.

Vlckova also represented UF on the SEC Community Service Team.

Glaser became the third head coach in program history to be named SEC Coach of the Year, and the first since Jill Briles-Hinton in 2008. The Ohio native led the Gators to their ninth SEC Championship title in program history, while also capturing four regular season team wins this season.

This is the third conference honor for Torres and Tomlinson, the second for Vlckova and it is the first all-league honor for Perez and Grassel.

Statistically, Torres had three individual titles and the lowest scoring average on the team (70.89). Meanwhile, Grassel had six top-ten finishes with her most recent one coming at the SEC Championship, where she tied the tournament record with a collegiate-best 65 in the final round.

Tomlinson and Perez both took home an individual win this season, Tomlinson at the Northrop Grumman Regional Challenge and Perez at the Florida Challenge. Vlckova has had eight top-25 finishes this season, with her best at the SunTrust Gator Invitational (third place).

Head Coach Emily Glaser Says: “I’m happy for these five student athletes to be recognized for their hard work and dedication.  For all of them to be recognized in some capacity shows the depth that we have on our roster this season. It’s humbling to be selected for coach of the year. This award is shared with Janice who has provided tremendous support to myself and all members of our team.

“All of these individual awards are really team awards in my eyes, as none of our success could be achieved without each other and all the support provided by our staff at UF.
an honor for these young ladies to be recognized by the SEC for their many accomplishments this year. We could not have accomplished what we have without every member of our team, so although these awards name specific players, we couldn’t have accomplished what we did without the collective effort of the group. This shows the depth we have on our team and the amount of effort our team has put in to improve since a year ago.”

Coach of the Year:
Emily Glaser, Florida

Player of the Year:
Cheyenne Knight, Alabama

Freshman of the Year:
Kristen Gillman, Alabama

Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Kate Sborov, Vanderbilt

First Team All-SEC:
Katelyn Dambaugh, South Carolina
Maria Torres, Florida
Cheyenne Knight, Alabama
Kelly Grassel, Florida
Maddie Szeryk, Texas A&M
Kristen Gillman, Alabama
Lauren Stephenson, Alabama
Harang Lee, Georgia

Second Team All-SEC:
Bianca Fabrizio, Texas A&M
Taylor Tomlinson, Florida
Jillian Hollis, Georgia
Alana Uriell, Arkansas
Bailey Tardy, Georgia
Ainhoa Olarra, South Carolina
Karolina Vlckova, Florida
Ana Pelaez, South Carolina

All-Freshman Team:
Kristen Gillman, Alabama
Jessica Yuen, Missouri
Ana Pelaez, South Carolina
Marta Perez, Florida
Elena Hualde, Auburn
Micheala Williams, Tennessee
Courtney Dow, Texas A&M
Abbey Carlson, Vanderbilt

Community Serve Team:
Summar Roachell, Arkansas
Kelli Murphy, Auburn
Karolina Vlckova, Florida
Sammi Lee, Georgia
Grace Rose, Kentucky
Sydney Cavin, LSU
Maria Toennessen, Ole Miss
Blaise Carabello, Mississippi State
Mackenzie Perez, Missouri
Marianna Monaco, South Carolina
Blakesly Warren, Tennessee
Callie Scheffler, Texas A&M
Lauren Johnson, Vanderbilt

Follow the Gators: The No. 6 Florida women’s golf team will compete as the No. 1 seed in the 2017 NCAA Women’s Golf Columbus Regional at the Ohio State University Golf Club, in Columbus, Ohio, on May 8-10. The top six teams and three individuals from each site will advance to the NCAA Championship May 19-24 at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill.